Old MacDonald…

January 17, 2008 at 1:01 am | Posted in Being a Dad, kids music, Musings | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Seriously, the greatest kid’s song ever written, and we don’t even know who wrote it – a little like The Odessey. Who is the kid’s music Homer anyway? They say Mozart wrote “Twinkle Twinkle,” or “Baa, Baa Black Sheep,” or “ABCD”…you pick. Point is, it rocks, or at least you can rock it – the kids know it, and Mozart it must have figured that out too.

Welcome to my blog – it’s about kid’s music – the music I play for kids, the music I want kids to hear, and my life as a Dad. In case you’re interested, here’s me and the guys doing a little old-macdonald.

Tonight I downloaded The Rolling Stones, “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” for my kids – we rocked out after dinner – before teeth brushings and final pee-pee’s.

I do want to do that song live. I guess I’d need to change a few lyrics –

“I saw her today at the reception
In her glass was a bleeding man
She was practiced at the art of deception
Well I could tell by her blood-stained hands -“

That might not work so well at a kids’ show, but

I saw those green beans on my plate
they all know that I like broccoli
I knew they’d have to cook it – I’d have to wait
So I held my nose and ate those green beans…You can’t always get what you want…”

OK, not my finest lyric, but you get the idea – expose these little people to real music and let them rock out…but feel free to edit – that’s our job as parents…right?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

