AC/DC or AB/CD? PART II (Read pt. I first!)

January 23, 2008 at 7:52 am | Posted in Music for You, Reviews | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Irony – Angus Young or Brian Johnson (AC/DC’s guitarist and lead singer, respectively) might be unable to define that word, but it’s a bit ironic, nonetheless, that after my disparaging comments about “You Shook Me all Night Long,” last night, that was the one that I ended up re-writing for my kids. After writing that post, I felt compelled to listen to “Back in Black” this morning on the drive to work. A few things struck me. First, these guys loved the blues – a lot of their music is full of blues riffs – I like it. Next, wow, are these guys juvenile. Honestly, I know they were going for the adolescent boy’s audience, but it really is too bad that so many of the lyrics are in such bad taste because the sensibility is more like four year old (as opposed to 14) – take the first line to “Hells Bells:” “I’m a rolling thunder, a pouring rain I’m comin’ on like a hurricane…” What parent of a four year old hasn’t experienced that early on a Saturday morning after staying up a little too late Friday night…”Morning sweetie, I’ll get up in a sec..?” Mostly, though, I noticed that these guys knew how to write a catchy tune – which is why I was humming “You Shook Me…” all day long.

It did morph over the day, though, and, against my better judgment, I will post the result. I’m no Brian Johnson (and I’m no Angus Young, for that matter), but please understand that I recorded this in about ten minutes in my barn (and it’s pretty cold, so I was in a hurry…) Anyway, hope you enjoy, Sleep All Night Long.mp3

Here’s the lyrics – I played it in G, just in case you want to sing it to your kids tonight before bed…

You are a fast machine, you keep your motor clean running around, like I have never seen
You have the tiredest eyes, telling me no lies, it’s time for bed before you start to cry
So we go up the stairs, letting go of your cares, you love your crib your favorite blanket’s there
So now let’s be quiet, come on just try it, sleep through the night everything will be alright now
Please, sleep all night long, don’t wake me up no, no, no – please sleep all night long

You’re working double time, just learned how to climb, you can go up the stairs in record time
You want no applause, and you never pause, you can tear up a room, you just go, go, go
You never cool it down now, in between rounds when you’re finally asleep, I’m dead on my feet
So now let’s be quiet, come on just try it, sleep through the night everything will be alright now
Please, sleep all night long, don’t wake me up no, no, no – please sleep all night long

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] I reworked my reworking of You Shook Me All night Long – Please Sleep All Night Long.mp3 – same lyrics, slowed down a bit for the lullaby effect (sing it to your kids tonight and take glee in the fact […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

